Username:
Password:
remember me?
 Latest:
Help / Support | Settings | View or Edit your profile
Forum Level:
A Thinker
Cost of living
Is the cost of living going up where you are?

It is in New Zealand.

Reserve Bank Governor has said he’s going to bring in a massive % increase to stop inflation (he’s already done two) which is all put down by those that can afford it to workers wages increasing which are increasing due to cost of living.

I blame the 40 day UK PM.

All the Reserve Banks seem to be shit scared, although the Fed has said they will have small increases, not like here where the authorities on big income don’t care.

I’m no expert but it seems like a chicken and the egg situation.

My mortgage comes off being fixed in May 2023 - I’m dreading to see what it jumps to. curse

If this thread breaks our rules please 
Forum Level:
Regular Contributor
Bout the same in the US. Inflation is outpacing wage growth by nearly 4 percentage points. The feds here have also increased interest rates in an attempt to combat inflation.
We are in the infancy of a recession in my opinion. 2c

If this reply breaks our rules please 
Forum Level:
Active Contributor
As a UKer, I'd like to apologise for the ignorant, bigoted, selfish Tory voters who inflicted Truss on us by voting for unfunded tax cuts and a spending boom. However, I don't think she's uniquely responsible for this global meltdown.

Forum Level:
Regular Contributor

Forum Level:
Regular Contributor
MrsTrellis said: As a UKer, I'd like to apologise for the ignorant, bigoted, selfish Tory voters who inflicted Truss on us by voting for unfunded tax cuts and a spending boom. However, I don't think she's uniquely responsible for this global meltdown.

As a US voter, I feel the same about the ignorant, bigoted and selfish voters who inflicted the Biden/Harris administration on us. Just as you don't believe Truss is responsible for global inflation, I don't believe Biden and Harris are responsible for it either.